Web Analytics
Regional Transport Offices, Punjab
Regional Transport offices in India
Home > RTO Punjab

RTO Punjab

RTO Code is - PB

Transport Department

The Transport Department was founded under the provisions of the Section 213 of Motor Vehicles Act 1988. The punjab rto Transport Department has been established primarily for enforcing the provisions of Motor Vehicles Act 1988, Punjab Motor Vehicles Taxation Act 1924 (amended 1993) and the rules created under the above two Acts.

Setup of the Department

The State Transport Commissioner heads the punjab rto Transport Department. He is further assisted by 2 Additional State Transport Commissioners, 1 Joint State Transport Commissioner, Deputy State Transport Commissioner, Deputy Controller (F & A), Punjab, Automobile Engineer, Service Engineer, Assistant Transport Commissioner (Technical) in Head Office.

Regional Transport Authorities and their Functions

The Punjab state has been divided into four regions. Each of the four regions has a Regional Transport Authority under the Section 68 of Motor Vehicles Act 1988 having State Transport Commissioner as the Regional Transport Authority. The Regional Transport Authority exercises and discharges the responsibilities and functions bestowed on them as per the Motor Vehicles Act provisions and rules made therein, which mainly relates to the transport control by way of  granting the permits.

Unit Offices

Unit Offices are created with an idea of decentralizing the administration and getting closer to the public. These are headed by the Motor Vehicles Inspectors /District Transport. These offices look after various transportation related tasks. In Punjab, Sub Divisional Magistrates (barring District Headquarters) are appointed as Licensing Authorities/Registering Authorities for the tasks related to Registration Certificate, Driving License etc. for tehsil level non-transport vehicles.

Regional Transport offices in India

Home | Contact Us | Site Map FOLLOW US ON:a
Bookmark and Share